fbpx

Chipping Campden - A lovely Cotswold Village

The name of Chipping Campden, one of the loveliest small towns in the Cotswolds, is derived from the old English word "ceping", meaning market place. The Saxon village of "Campadene", meaning a valley with fields and enclosures, was established in Saxon times. With a population of over 2000 people, the High street is dominated by the 400-year-old market place built by the town's rich benefactor Baptiste Hicks for just £90.00. St James's church at the north end of the High Street is one of the Cotswolds finest "wool" churches. Campden House, destroyed by the Royalists in 1640 to stop it from falling into Parliamentarians hands, can be seen next to the church and the Court Barn Museum. Chipping Campden became an important destination in the Art and Craft movement in the early 1900s.

Stanway House and Fountain

The Tracey Family have owned Stanway House in the Cotswolds since the 1580's. The Gate House, designed by Timothy Strong, a local Craftsmen, was added in the  1630s. He also worked on St Pauls Cathedral and many important buildings in London after the Great Fire in 1666. During the summer months, the property is open to the public for a couple of days /week to tour the house and garden home to the most powerful gravity-fed in the world fountain reaching 300ft into the air. The reservoir to feed the fountain is at the top of the Cotswold Escarpment behind Stanway House. The Thatched cricket pavilion set upon staddle stones in Stanway House's grounds was presented to the village by JM Barrie who played cricket with Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, AA Milne, and HG Wells in the 1920s.