Upper and Lower Slaughter are two of the loveliest unspoilt villages in the Cotswolds. There are two theories of the origin of their name: the name Slaughter comes from the old English word "Slothre" meaning muddy, and so it became known as muddy crossings of the River Eye. There is no sign of any mud today! Alternatively, Upper Slaughter Manor dates back to the Saxon Period. Sometime in the 12th.C the Slaughter family became owners. It is not sure whether they took their name from the manor or vice-versa, but John Slaughter was undoubtedly the owner in 1282. The Tudor house that we admire today has been extended several times, but it is an L shaped house to give the impression of being enormous, and therefore the family were very wealthy.